Following Death Threat Against Christian Writer, Terror Site Gets Run Out Of Houston
By Jeremy Reynalds (02/14/05)
...but moves to Chicago and death threat remains online.
Following extensive media coverage regarding the death threat (http://haganah.org.il/harchives/003608.html) against me posted on a radical Islamic bulletin board service (which remains on line), www.ansarnet.ws has now changed its Internet Service Provider.
After being suspended, it has moved from the Houston-based Everyone's Internet (www.ev1.net) to the Chicago-based www.hostforweb.com
An e-mail to the company asking why they were hosting a well-known terror friendly site was answered by a "Max J" who identified himself as a company vice-president. He wrote, "the website will be removed once we get a request from FBI or Court."
However, Host for Web appears to be violating its own terms of service which read in part (www.hostforweb.com/terms.html) "All services provided by HostForWeb, Inc. may be used for lawful purposes only. Transmission, storage, or presentation of any information, data or material in violation of any United States Federal, State or City law is prohibited."
Background information about Al Ansar is available at http://internet-haganah.co.il/harchives/003631.html
HOST FOR WEB
The apparent owners of Host for Web also seem to own a number of other Internet names, all of which are redirected to www.hostforweb.com. Those names are www.forthemusic.net,www.hfw.us, www.hostforweb.com, www.hostforweb.net and www.katanaclub.com
For the Music and Katana Club are registered to Alex Korneyev, with a Chicago street address.
On Feb. 23 2004 Host for Web.com was registered to Alex Korneyev but this time providing a P. O. Box in Chicago. On Feb. 24 Korneyev switched to using an Internet privacy protection service (an increasingly common practice) with a Bellevue WA address.
On Feb. 23 2004 Host for Web.net was registered to a Boris Kofman and G.E.O.S. Corporation of Arlington Heights Ill. Kofman changed to an Internet privacy protection service sometime between Feb. 23 and March 5 2004.
HFW is also registered to a Boris Kofman and G.E.O.S. Corporation. A number listed for Kofman was not working.
There is additional information available on line about Korneyev and his company at www.hostsearch.com/interview/hostforwebcom_interview.asp and
http://findmyhost.com/interviews/hostforweb.asp
However, Host for Web appears to be violating its own terms of service which read in part (www.hostforweb.com/terms.html) "All services provided by HostForWeb, Inc. may be used for lawful purposes only. Transmission, storage, or presentation of any information, data or material in violation of any United States Federal, State or City law is prohibited."
Background information about Al Ansar is available at http://internet-haganah.co.il/harchives/003631.html
HOST FOR WEB
The apparent owners of Host for Web also seem to own a number of other Internet names, all of which are redirected to www.hostforweb.com. Those names are www.forthemusic.net,www.hfw.us, www.hostforweb.com, www.hostforweb.net and www.katanaclub.com
For the Music and Katana Club are registered to Alex Korneyev, with a Chicago street address.
On Feb. 23 2004 Host for Web.com was registered to Alex Korneyev but this time providing a P. O. Box in Chicago. On Feb. 24 Korneyev switched to using an Internet privacy protection service (an increasingly common practice) with a Bellevue WA address.
On Feb. 23 2004 Host for Web.net was registered to a Boris Kofman and G.E.O.S. Corporation of Arlington Heights Ill. Kofman changed to an Internet privacy protection service sometime between Feb. 23 and March 5 2004.
HFW is also registered to a Boris Kofman and G.E.O.S. Corporation. A number listed for Kofman was not working.
There is additional information available on line about Korneyev and his company at www.hostsearch.com/interview/hostforwebcom_interview.asp and http://findmyhost.com/interviews/hostforweb.asp
Korneyev's company apparently rents computer space from www.servercentral.net A call to that company was answered with a request to submit a complaint in writing to both the support and abuse departments.
An e- mail to Server Central was answered with an automated response which read in part,"Your ticket has been submitted to our support department. One of the staff members will review it and reply accordingly."
A personal reply was not immediately received, but a status report at Server Central (http://support.servercentral.net/index.php?_a=tickets&_m=listview&_i=JVS-87540) appeared to indicate the company had closed the issue. It was unclear whether that meant the company is still planning to investigate www.ansaw.ws and possibly voluntarily remove it or if it will be allowed to stay on line pending a request from law enforcement to remove it.
However, Server Central's terms of service appear to preclude the company from hosting www.ansar.ws. Those terms read in part (www.servercentral.net/legal/terms.php), "Services provided to the Customer by the Provider may only be used for lawful purposes. Transmission or publication of any information, data or material in violation of any U.S. Federal or state regulation or law is prohibited."
(Printer friendly version) Email: Jeremy Reynalds